FIS Alpine Ski World Cup

The Alpine Ski World Cup is a World Cup held by the International Ski Federation FIS in the ski alpine discipline. It is held annually in the period from October to March and in several places worldwide. The respective World Cup season started in the 1990s at the end of October with a glacier race. It is run on the Rettenbach glacier above Sölden in the Ötztal. The top 30 athletes of each race get World Cup points according to a FIS scoring system, which has been revised several times during the World Cup history and has remained unchanged since 1993. At the end of each World Cup season, a large crystal ball will be awarded to the athlete with the most points from all races. The individual disciplines are guided by their own points tables. For the winners of the downhill, slalom, giant slalom and (since 1986) Super-G, there are small crystal balls.

There is a state of emergency in the mountains, when the Alpine Ski World Cup is held at one of the venues. Thousands of tourists from all over the world cheer the skiing stars! Since 2011 VIP Sportstravel have been at the Alpine Ski World Cup and has since then supplied more than 1,400 international guests with all hospitality services. From flights and transfers to hotels, restaurants and sightseeing – we develop customised solutions depending on your budget. So you can enjoy every moment of the event carefree and have your hands free to cheer. Benefit from our local knowledge and experience from many years on site. Let us convince you of our individual offers!

inquire now

Key Facts

First edition 1967 in Berchtesgaden
Competitions slalom
giant slalom
super G
Record champion Men’s Marcel Hirscher (6 wins)
Record champion Women’s Annemarie Moser-Pröll (6 wins)
Closest finish 0,01 sec between place 1 & 3
Top speed 161,9 km/h in Lauberhorn
Traditional races Val-d’Isère
Beaver Creek